QC to receive elections proxies untill May 28

Qatar Chamber has dedicated two shifts during the holy month of Ramadan for the attestation on proxies for the elections of the Chamber Board of Directors .
The morning shift will start from 9-2 pm, while the evening one will start from 9-11 p.m. on all working days (Sunday-Thursday) and close two days before the Chamber’s second general assembly scheduled on May 30 at La Cigale Hotel.

Meanwhile, the chamber hold its first annual general meeting (AGM) last Monday May 14 which was postponed to May 30 due of lack of quorum. The second meeting will be hold regardless number of attendees.

The meeting will discuss QC’s fiscal report for the year ending December 31, 2017 and a new auditor for the 2018 financial year will be appointed.

The meeting will also witness the election of six Council of Board of Directors.

The members who have the right to attend and vote should accomplish the subscription for 2018 until the date of the general assembly meeting.

The Supervising Committee of the Elections of the Qatar Chamber of Commerce and Industry hold a meeting at the chamber venue last Monday and got acquainted with the latest preparations for the election.

The elections is being organised in accordance with the decision of the Minister of Economy and Commerce No 83 of 2018 and Resolution No 86 regarding formulating the supervising committee on the Chamber’s elections.

Earlier, the Supervising Committee of the Elections of the Qatar Chamber of Commerce and Industry announced the final list of the candidates.

According to the committee, 17 members will be elected by the members of the Chamber out of 19 candidates representing trade, contracting, industry services, agriculture, banking, investment, tourism and insurance sectors.

There are six candidates in the trade sector: Mohamed Mahdi Ajayan al Ahbabi, Rashid Hamad Hazza al Athba, Shaheen Mohamed Lahdan al Mohannadi, Khaled Khlefeekh al Hajri, Mohamed Gohar al Mohamed and Abdulrahman Abdul Jaleel Abdul Gahni. Five members will be elected from the list.

There are four voters in the industry sector including Ebtihaj Mohamed al Ahmadani, Abdul Rahman Abdulla al Ansari, Mishaal Nasser Hamad al Fuhaida al Hajri and Khaled Jabor Sultan al Kuwari. Three members will be elected from the list.

The candidates of banking, insurance, agriculture, services and contracting sectors have all won accolades including Ali Abdul Latif al Misnad in services sector, Sheikh Hamad bin Ahmed bin Abdulla al Thani in tourism sector, Mohamed Ahmed Khalifa al Tawar al Kuwari in agriculture sector, Sheikh Khalifa bin Jassim bin Mohamed al Thani in insurance, Rashid Nasser al Kaabi in banking

Back to top button