الشيخ ثاني بن علي: مستمرون في نشر ثقافة التحكيم

خلال ندوة عن التحكيم في منازعات العقود الهندسية

03-03-2024

أكد سعادة الدكتور الشيخ ثاني بن علي آل ثاني عضو مجلس الإدارة للعلاقات الدولية بمركز قطر الدولي للتوفيق والتحكيم بغرفة قطر، حرص المركز على نشر ثقافة التحكيم بين أوساط المجتمع والقانونيين خاصة لما للتحكيم من أهمية بالغة في تسوية النزاعات التجارية.

وأشار سعادته خلال افتتاح ندوة بعنوان “العقود الهندسية وانواعها وأهم السمات المميزة وسبل فض المنازعات فيها والاعتبارات الناشئة عن تعدد الاطراف والعقود في منازعات التحكيم”، الى أهمية عقد مثل هذه الندوات في تسليط الضوء على مختلف أنواع عقود التحكيم ، حيث يواصل المركز عقد سلسلة من الندوات في هذا السياق.

وحضر الندوة التي عقدت بمقر الغرفة،  السيد علي بو شرباك المنصوري المدير العام المكلف، الى جانب عدد كبير من القانونيين والمحكمين وممثلي شركات ومكاتب المحاماة في الدولة.

وتحدث خلال الندوة كل من القاضي زلفا الحسن رئيسة المحكمة المدنية الابتدائية ومحكمة الجمارك ومحكمة جرائم القصر في بيروت، والمهندس الاستشاري محمد سعيد فتحة  نائب رئيس الهيئة العربية للتحكيم الهندسي- سابقاً، عضو المعهد الدولي للمحكمين –لندن (CIArb) وأمين عام الشعبة اللبنانية  للمهندسين الاستشاريين عضو الاتحاد الدولي للمهندسين الاستشاريين-FIDIC .

واستعرض المهندس الاستشاري محمد سعيد فتحة في تقديمه تعريف عقد المقاولة أو التشييد وخصائصه والاثار القانونية له وانواعه، كما تطرق بالتفصيل إلى عقود البوت واهميتها وانواعها وسلبياتها. كما ناقش العقود النموذجية (فيديك)، والأساليب الحديثة في فض المنازعات في العقود الهندسية.

وأشار بأنه كلما كان العقد وشروطه ومواصفاته ورسوماته وبقية وثائقه واضحة ودقيقة في تحديدها لواجبات ومسؤوليات وحقوق الأطراف المتعاقدة كلما قلت احتمالات الاختلاف في وجهات النظر إزاء تفسير تلك الوثائق، وبالتالي ضاق احتمال نشوب  خلافات أثناء التنفيذ.

وقال أنه يمكن تقسيم عقود الإنشاء الهندسية إلى مجموعتين رئيسيتين هما:عقود التنافس وعقود التفاوض، مشيراً بأن كل من المجموعتين  تتناسب بشكل عام مع سلسلة من الظروف المحيطة بالمشروع.

كما نوه بأن نظام عقد الـ B.O.T يعتبر من الأنظمة الحديثة التي تعتمدها الدول لتنفيذ مشاريع ضخمة في البنية التحتية وغيرها، مثل الأوتوستراد والطرقات والجسور والمطارات والاتصالات والمرافئ والماء والكهرباء، وأضاف بأن إشراك القطاع الخاص في هذه المشاريع يؤمن نوعية أفضل ويوفر في الوقت والكلفة.

 من جانبها، تناولت القاضي زلفا الحسن الاعتبارات الاستراتيجية الناتجة عن تعدد الأطراف والعقود في التحكيم.

وقالت ان التحكيم متعدد الأطراف يقصد به الذي يضم أكثر من طرفين إلى ثلاثة كحد أدنى، ونوهت بانه لكى يرتب شرط التحكيم الوارد في العقد اثاره يجب توافر شرطين فيه الأول يرتبط باتفاق التحكيم متعدد الأطراف والثاني يتعلق بتنفيذ هذا الاتفاق.

وأشارت بأن التحكيم متعدد الأطراف له مزايا وعيوب، ونوهت بأن من مزاياه انه يمكن حسم النزاع عن طريق محكمة تحكيم واحدة كما انه اقل كلفة واكثر سرعة في حسم النزاع.

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى

QICCA continues to promote arbitration culture, says Sheikh Thani bin Ali

03-03-2024

HE Sheikh Dr Thani bin Ali Al Thani, Board Member for International Relations at the Qatar International Centre for Conciliation and Arbitration (QICCA) at the Qatar Chamber (QC), emphasized the centre’s commitment to promoting the culture of arbitration, especially among legal circles. He highlighted the importance of arbitration in settling commercial disputes.

Top of Form

This came in his remarks at the opening of a seminar recently held by the centre titled “Engineering Contracts: Types, Features, Means of Dispute Resolution, Emerging Considerations of Multilateral Contracts in Arbitration Disputes”, in the presence of QC Acting General Manager Ali Saeed bu Sherbak Al Mansori.

Sheikh Dr Thani underscored the significance of hosting such seminars that highlight the role of arbitration in settling disputes, noting that the centre would continue to hold a series of seminars in this context.

The seminar was delivered by Eng. Mohamad Said Fatha, Former Vice president of the Arab League of Engineers, Member of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators-London (CIArb),  Secretary-General of the Lebanese Association of Consulting Engineers and Member of the International Federation of Consulting Engineers-FIDIC and Judge. Zalfa El Hassan, President of the First Instance Civil Court, the Customs Court, and Minors Crimes Court of Beirut.

During the seminar, Eng. Mohamad Said Fatha reviewed the definition of construction contract, its characteristics, legal implications, and types. Additionally, he elaborated on B.O.T contracts and their importance, types, and disadvantages. Furthermore, he discussed model contracts (such as FIDIC) and modern methods of resolving disputes in engineering contracts.

He noted that engineering construction contracts could be divided into two main categories: fixed-price contracts and cost-plus contracts. He noted that each group was generally commensurate with a series of circumstances surrounding the project.

Fatha also pointed out that B.O.T contracts are adopted by countries to implement large-scale infrastructure and other projects, such as highways, roads, bridges, airports, telecommunications, ports, water, and electricity. He added that the private sector’s involvement in such projects ensures better quality and saves time and cost.

On her part, Judge. Zalfa El Hassan discussed strategic considerations arising from multilateral contracts in arbitration, noting that multilateral arbitration means the arbitration that involves more than two to three parties at least.

She also indicated that multilateral arbitration has advantages and disadvantages, indicating that disputes in these cases could be resolved through a single arbitral tribunal, making it less costly and more promptly in resolving the dispute.

Back to top button