مركز قطر للتحكيم يستعرض أهمية اتفاق التحكيم في العملية التحكيمية

خلال ندوة حاضر فيها د. طارق رياض بحضور د. ثاني بن علي

 22-02-2024

نظم مركز قطر الدولي للتوفيق والتحكيم بغرفة قطر ندوة بعنوان “أهمية اتفاق التحكيم”، وذلك بحضور سعادة الدكتور الشيخ ثاني بن علي آل ثاني عضو مجلس إدارة المركز للعلاقات الدولية بالمركز، الى جانب عدد كبير من القانونيين والمحكمين وممثلي شركات ومكاتب المحاماة في لدولة.

وتحدث خلال الندوة الأستاذ الدكتور طارق فؤاد رياض ماجيستير ودكتوراه من كلية الحقوق جامعة هارفرد وعضو نقابة المحامين في نيويورك ورئيس اللجنة التنفيذية لمركز دبي للتحكيم سابقا والشريك المدير لمكتب طارق رياض وشركاه للمحاماة والاستشارات القانونية.

وخلال الندوة، أكد سعادة الدكتور الشيخ ثاني بن علي آل ثاني على حرص مركز قطر الدولي للتوفيق والتحكيم على نشر ثقافة التحكيم بين أوساط المجتمع والقانونيين خاصة لما للتحكيم من أهمية بالغة في تسوية النزاعات التجارية.

وركز الأستاذ الدكتور طارق رياض في تقديمه على تعريف التحكيم واتفاق التحكيم وصور اتفاق التحكيم وشروط صحة اتفاق التحكيم والقانون الحاكم لاتفاق التحكيم ونموذج شرط التحكيم ونموذج شرط تحكيم غرفة التجارة الدولية ومركز دبي للتحكيم التجاري الدولي ونموذج شرط تحكيم مركز قطر الدولي للتوفيق والتحكيم وغيرها من الموضوعات.

وهنأ د. طارق رياض، مركز قطر الدولي للتوفيق والتحكيم على التقدم والإنجازات التي احرزها خلال العشر الماضية، مشيدا بالإجراءات والقواعد التي يتبعها المركز في التعامل مع المنازعات التي يعمل على حلها.

وقال أن التحكيم هو معركة بين طرفين  وله العديد من العناصر والادوات الهامة فيها ويرغب كل طرف الانتصار، مما يتطلب حسن اعداد المعركة التحكيمية عن طريق حسن صياغة شرط التحكيم وتنفيذ العقد وفقا لشروطه، موضحا أهمية تقييم الموقف القانوني قبل رفع الدعوى التحكيمية والنظر في إمكانية الصلح وحسن اختيار المحكم.

وعن اتفاق التحكيم، أشار بأنه هو الخريطة التي تحدد معالم التحكيم، وكلما كان واضحا سوف يساعد الأطراف في معرفة القواعد التي يتم تطبيقها على التحكيم.

وفيما يخص عناصر اتفاق التحكيم، نوه بانها تضم نوع التحكيم وهيئة التحكيم ومكان التحكيم ولغته والقانون الواجب التطبيق على الإجراءات وعلى الموضوع.

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى

QICCA examines the significance of arbitration agreement in the arbitration process

22-02-2024

The Qatar International Centre for Conciliation and Arbitration (QICCA) at the Qatar Chamber recently organized a seminar titled “The Significance of Arbitration Agreement,” in the presence of QICCA’s board member for International Relations, HE Sheikh Dr Thani bin Ali Al Thani.

The seminar was delivered by Dr. Tarek Fouad Riad, MA and PhD from Harvard Law School, member of the New York Bar Association, former Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Dubai Arbitration Centre and Managing Partner of Tarek Riad & Partners Law Firm and Legal Consultations.

Addressing the seminar, HE Dr. Sheikh Thani emphasized the QICCA’s commitment to promoting the culture of arbitration among society and especially among legal circles. He highlighted the importance of arbitration in settling commercial disputes.

During the seminar, Dr. Tarek Riad focused on various aspects of arbitration, including the definition of arbitration, the arbitration agreement, different forms of the arbitration agreement, conditions for its validity, the law governing it, and model arbitration clauses from organizations like the International Chamber of Commerce, the Dubai International Commercial Arbitration Centre, and the Qatar International Centre for Conciliation and Arbitration.

He also congratulated QICCA on its progress and achievements over the past ten years, praising its procedures and rules in resolving disputes.

Dr Riad emphasized that arbitration is essentially a battle between two parties, characterized by numerous important elements and tools, underscoring the significance of preparation for the arbitration process, including drafting the arbitration clause carefully and adhering to the contract’s terms.

He highlighted the significance of evaluating the legal position before initiating arbitration proceedings and considering the possibility of reconciliation, as well as making a good choice of arbitrator.

Discussing the arbitration agreement, Dr Riad underscored its pivotal role as the roadmap defining the arbitration process. He stressed that clarity in the agreement is crucial as it helps both parties understand the rules governing arbitration.

Regarding the elements of the arbitration agreement, he outlined key components such as the type of arbitration, composition of the arbitral tribunal, arbitration venue and language, as well as the applicable law governing the procedures and subject matter.

Back to top button